

TUBAC FIRE DISTRICT

2227 EAST FRONTAGE ROAD P.O. BOX 2881 TUBAC, ARIZONA 85646 TELEPHONE: (520) 398-2255

TUBAC FIRE DISTRICT BOARD MEETING MINUTES REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS December 14, 2022

- 1. <u>Call to order and Pledge of Allegiance:</u> The meeting was called to order at 1:30 p.m., by Mary Dahl. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 2. <u>Swearing in Oath of Office for newly elected Board Members:</u> Herb Wisdom and Sandy Johnson were sworn in as the newly elected Board Members.
- 3. Nomination and appointment of new Board Officers: Heb Wisdom nominated Mary Dahl to continue as Board Chair and all were in favor. Mary Dahl nominated Herb Wisdom for Clerk of the Board with all in favor. Sandy Johnson nominated Pete Benequista for Board Treasurer, and all were in favor. Sandy Johnson spoke to agenda items 13, 14, and 15 pointing out that in state bylaws, a resignation of a board member from the board is generally effective the day of the resigning member's announcement. In Bill Kirkpatrick's case, that date was December 8th. Mr. Johnson argued that Bill Kirkpatrick should not be casing votes on future issues, such as the agenda item regarding appointment of his replacement. After extensive discussion, Pete Benequista made a motion to accept Bill Kirkpatrick's resignation effective December 8, 2022, the date Chairman Dahl received his notification and Sandy Johnson seconded the motion to include the Board is complying with the bylaws in its decision; Herb Wisdom was in favor, Mary Dahl was opposed, and Bill Kirkpatrick abstained from the vote. The motion passed 3:1:1.
- 4. Roll call of Board Members: Herb Wisdom, Pete Benequista, Sandy Johnson, and Mary Dahl were present at Station #2. Also, in attendance at Station #2 were Chief Horvath, Deputy Chief Rivera Deputy Chief Guerrero, Captain Hesly Guerrero, Nancy Lindsey, and Charlie Alvarez. Gabe Buldra and Sam Coppersmith attended via Zoom. Members of the public in attendance were Rob Doron, Don Robidoux, Carole Benequista, Dean Hahn-Carlson, Jim Swiggett, Clem Shute, Ron & Kathi Campana, Mike Pettypool, Torry Johnson, Candy Clancy, Homero Lopez, and Angela Gervasi.
- 5. Report from Board Members: None
- 6. Reading of public comments submitted via email: Nancy Lindsey read emails from Richard Bohman, Mindy Maddock, and Lee Blackwell in which they questioned the resignation of Board Member Bill Kirkpatrick and the requirement of the remaining board members to fill the vacancy.
- 7. <u>Call to the public:</u> District residents Torry Johnson, Don Robidoux, Carole Benequista, Clem Shute, Kathi Campana, and Mike Pettypool applauded the Board for its decision to follow state bylaws in accepting Bill Kirkpatrick's resignation and provided comments on the process for selecting a new board member. Charlie Alvarez congratulated Sandy and Herb on their appointments and provided the Board with the information on the "Adopt a Family" program.
- 8. Correspondence: None

- 9. Chair's Report: None
- 10. <u>Chief and Staff Report:</u> Deputy Chiefs' Ben Guerrero and Genaro Rivera and Chief Horvath provided the following to the Board:
 - An overview of the monthly staff report
 - Staff training
 - Wildland update
 - Administration update
- 11. <u>Monthly Financial Report for November 2022:</u> Gabe Buldra presented the financial reports for the month of November 2022.
- 12. <u>Consent Agenda:</u> Pete Benequista made a motion to approve the consent agenda and Herb Wisdom seconded the motion; all were in favor, the motion passed.
- 13. <u>Pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.03(A)(1) and (A)(3), discussion and consultation for legal advice regarding appointment to fill a District Board vacancy:</u> No additional discussion.
- 14. <u>Discussion and possible action to accept Board member Kirkpatrick's resignation, effective upon approval of an interim Board member or January 31, 2023, whichever comes first:</u> No additional discussion.
- 15. <u>Discussion and possible action to set out the process to be used in the appointment of an interim Board member to serve the balance of Board member Kirkpatrick's term:</u> No additional discussion.
- 16. Future Agenda Items: Station 1 information from WSM Architects
- 17. Next meeting: January 25, 2023, At 1:30 p.m.
- 18. <u>Adjourn meeting:</u> Sandy Johnson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 3:15 and Pete Benequista seconded the motion; all were in favor, the motion passed.